Faculty Senate Meeting

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Minutes

Senators Present: M. Baarmand (PSS/3), K. Burke (SAC/3), P. Converse (Psych/3), H. Crawford (CS/3), I. Delgado Perez (COB/3), A. Dutta (COB/3), E. Guisbert (Bio/3), A. Huser (Lib/2), M. Jensen (MAE/3), U. Jones (Aero/2), M. Kaya (BME/2), V. Kishore (CE/3), S. Kozaitis (Lib/3), B. Lail (ECE/2), D. Lelekis (SAC/3), D. LeVan (CS/1), G. Maul (OES/3), B. Morkos (MAE/1), S. Murshid (ECE/2), A. Nag (PSS/3), J. Park (DEIS/2), L. Perdigao (SAC/3), D. Platt (ESD/3), P. Ray (OES/3), R. Rusovici (MAE/2), D. Sandall (COB/2), M. Silaghi (CS/3), E. Subasi (ES/3), N. Suksawang (MAE/2), G. Tenali (Math/3), R. van Woesik (Bio/3), R. Wehmschulte (Chem/3), A. Walton (COB/1), N. Weatherly (SBA/3), A. Welters (Math/3), B. Wheeler (Aero/3), K. Winkelmann (Chem/2), D. Yuran (SAC/3),

Proxies: Gary Burns (CoPLA) for M. Lavooy (Psych/3) or B. Paulillo (Psych/2)?

Other Attendees: Christopher Chouinard (BCES), Ted Conway (BCES), Tristan Fiedler (BCES), Kastro Hamed (DEIS), Jacob Ivey (SAC), Nasri Nesnas (Chem)

[NOTE: The attendance report above will be included in the minutes for each meeting to include the numbers present during the 2018-2019 academic year.]

Call to Order

President Winkelmann called the meeting to order at 3:32. The minutes from the September 18 (no. 139) meeting were approved.

New Business

Vote on new Chairs for Scholarship, Welfare & TRI committees

Pres. Winkelmann opened the floor for nominations. Sen. Dutta was nominated for chair of Welfare and Sen. Sandall was nominated for chair of Scholarship. Both were unanimously approved. Pres. Winkelmann thanked both senators for agreeing to serve as chairs.

Old Business

Vote to endorse Tenure Policy and Procedures, Tenure Implementation Plan, COES P&T Criteria, COB P&T Criteria, and COA P&T Criteria

Pres. Winkelmann went over the voting process. He encouraged senators to abstain if they felt that they lacked the knowledge to vote on a particular part. There is also room to list your top concern.

The ballots were distributed and voting took place. Pres. Winkelmann and Sec. Lelekis tallied the votes and the results were as follows:

Tenure Policies and Procedures

33 Yes 8 No 0 Abstain

Tenure Implementation

27 Yes 14 No 0 Abstain

COES P&T Criteria

14 Yes 15 No 11 Abstain

COB P&T Criteria

13 Yes 2 No 25 Abstain

COA P&T Criteria

12 Yes 3 No 25 Abstain

Pres. Winkelman thanked everyone for coming to these frequent meetings and thanked the senators who worked over the summer on the tenure policies. Those efforts made a huge difference in the outcome.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie Lelekis, Faculty Senate Secretary