News Releases

Share |

Florida Tech Faculty and Staff Earn Development Grants


MELBOURNE, FLA. — Seven Florida Tech faculty and staff members have been awarded Faculty Professional Development Grants of up to $2,500 each for hardware and software purchases and student support. Each year, Florida Tech’s Academic Information Technology Committee (ACITC) grants program provides opportunities for Florida Tech faculty to enrich their teaching and professional development through participation in technology-related projects and travel. The 2008-2009 recipients are:

Pierre Larochelle, College of Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, “A Novel Web-Based Tool to Facilitate 360 Degree Peer Evaluation for Student Design Project Teams”

Rebecca Weber, Evans Library, “Laptops, Campus Networks, and Librarians”

Michael Grace, College of Science, Department of Biological Sciences, “Video Infrastructure for Training in Microscopy and Microanalysis”

Chelakara Subramanian, College of Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, “Interactive Design of Supersonic Nozzle”

Cheryl Davis, Evans Library, “Creating Tutorials for 24/7 Library Research Instruction”

Sen Chiao, College of Engineering, Department of Marine and Environmental Systems, “Minimum Temperatures and Diurnal Temperature Ranges in the Melbourne Area”

LuAnn Bean, College of Business, “An Integration of Modified Machinima Cases for the Accounting and Management Curriculum”

This year, ACITC received 15 proposals. Recipients were selected, primarily, based on the degree of integration of technology-based instructional materials, project innovation, interdisciplinary collaboration and student participation. The awarded grants represent a diverse constituency across four academic programs, Evans Library and University College.