Florida Institute of Technology

June 27–Aug. 7, 2014

Oxford Program 2014 Intinerary  

Florida Tech Oxford Class & Activity Schedule 2014

Breakfast in the Hall 8–8:45 a.m. June 29–July 11

Lunch in Hall 12:30–1:15 p.m. July 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 11, 12

Saturday, June 28:
Arrive in Oxford, check into Jesus College, Turl Street
6 p.m. Casual dinner at Jesus College (included)

 

Sunday, June 29 – Breakfast
Free morning/afternoon Use the ATM, have lunch, shop for school supplies, etc. You may wish to hear the boys’ choir at Christ Church Cathedral. It is their last service of the summer with the f a.m.ous boys’ choir. Free entry. Service begins 11:15 a.m. Walk from Jesus College at 10:40 a.m.
1:00 p.m. Group meeting at Jesus College – welcome, intro to the college, logistics for classes, etc.
10GBP for dinner extra collected here.
2:30 p.m. Walking tour – Gather at Jesus College main entrance (front quad) for Oxford city guided walking tour. Wear sneakers/good walking shoes. Bring c a.m.era & umbrella. Ends 4:30/5 p.m.
6:30 p.m. Photos in the quad, 7 p.m. – Opening dinner in Jesus College Hall or Mansell Room - dress up please

 

GENERAL CLASS SCHEDULE 2013
8–10:30 a.m. Calc 3
8:30–10:30 a.m. World Religions, International Marketing
10:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m. Prob & Stats, Marketing Principles/Management
12:30–1:15 p.m. *Lunch in Hall (buffet) –  only on designated days
1:15–3:15 p.m. Tolkien, Sci Tech Comm
3:30–5:30 p.m. Civ2
All classes are subject to slight time adjustments (including lengthened classes on non-trip/ non-weekend days) by professors.

 

Monday, June 30 – Breakfast
Optional Trip to London (return train, Tower of London, London Show)
8:30 a.m. Meet at Jesus College Ship St. side 4th Quod entrance. Walk to train station.
9 a.m. departure
10 a.m. (approx.) London arrival
11:30-1:30 p.m. (approx.) Tower of London http://www.hrp.org.uk/TowerOfLondon/
1:30 p.m. (approx.) Depart Tower for walk or tube to Trafalgar Square or other group destination.
2-7 p.m. Free time in London. Suggestions will be discussed, but include National Gallery, China Town, Sherlock Holmes Pub, Evensong service at Westminster Abbey Cathedral, etc.)

7:30 p.m.

11:30 p.m.

Les Miserables, Queen's Theatre

Depart London Paddington to Oxford

12:30 a.m. (approx.) Arrive Oxford

 

Tuesday, July 1 –  Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Wednesday, July 2 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Thursday, July 3 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Friday, July 4 –Breakfast
Classes and lunch

Saturday, July 5 –Breakfast

Optional bike trip:  Cotswolds:  Moreton in Marsh to Chipping Campden

 

Sunday, July 6 – Breakfast (FREE DAY)

 

Monday, July 7 – Breakfast – BATH DAY
8:40 a.m. Depart Jesus College entrance on Turl St. for short walk to coach (Tappins/Heyfordian Coaches). Coach departs between 8:45am
Approx 10:30 a.m. Arrive Bath
10:30 a.m.-12:15 p.m. Guided bus/walking tour with Shirley Storey
12:15-2 p.m. Lunch in the Pump Room- pre-choose menu- (OPTIONAL- with fee of $10/$15)
2:30-5:30 p.m. Bath Thermae Spa or free time in Bath
6:50-7:50 p.m. Ancient Roman Baths Museum
8 p.m. Depart Bath (coach parked at Bath Abbey)
APPROX 9:30 p.m. Arrive Oxford. Bring bathing suit & flip flops if you wish to visit the Bath Thermae Spa (included)

 

Tuesday, July 8 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Wednesday, July 9 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Thursday, July 10 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch.  Pack tonight for Friday move to flats.

 

Friday, July 11 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Saturday, July 12:
Warwick Castle & Stratford Upon Avon OR Blenheim Palace/Cotswolds
9 a.m. Depart Oxford from 121 Woodstock Rd. (Tappins/Heyfordian)
approx 10:15 a.m. Warwick Castle drop off (castle admission included- no dungeon)
3 p.m. Warwick Castle departure for Stratford
3:30-7 p.m. Stratford free time (including diner on your own)
7 p.m. Depart for Oxford
8:30 p.m. Arrive Oxford

 

Sunday, July 13 – Free Day

 

Monday, July 14:

Classes

Punting and picnic dinner/bocce/badminton right after Civ 2


 

Tuesday July 15:

Classes

 


 

Wednesday, July 16:
Classes
7 p.m. Casual group dinner at Steven’s Close. Bocce ball & Badminton

 

Thursday, July 17:
Classes
Afternoon time TBA (approx 1pm) departure for Paris via coach on Broad Street by Trinity College Gate.  Have Passport on your body (not in luggage)

 

July 18-21 – Free 4 day weekend (Fri-Mon)

 

Tuesday, July 22:

Classes

 

TROUT DINNER 6:30 p.m. Dinner at The Trout, Godstow Rd., Wolvercote -3 courses- drinks not included (#6 Wolvercote bus to the end of the line- use your bus pass. Depart from SC bus stop at 6 p.m. or from town at 5:45 p.m.) www.thetroutoxford.co.uk … Please dress up.


 

Wednesday, July 23:
Classes


 

Thursday, July 24:
Classes
6 p.m. Evensong at Christ Church Cathedral for World Religions class. Arrive by 5:45 p.m.

 

Friday, July 25:
Classes

 

July 26- July 29 – Free 4 day weekend

 

Wednesday, July 30:
Classes

 

Thursday, July 31:

Classes

 


Friday, August 1:
Classes

 

Saturday and Sunday, August 2 and 3 – Study Days

 

Monday, August 4:
Class review day

 

Tuesday, Aug 5 –  Exams
Final dinner
6:30, Lincoln College, Turl St. (Please dress up)

 

Wednesday, August 6 – Free Day
(Be sure to PACK).
You may depart on this day, but not before.

 

Thursday, August 7:
Final morning of Jesus College housing. Depart by 11 a.m.

You will live at Jesus College, Turl Street, Oxford OX13DW from June 29 - July 12 and at Stevens Close, 121 Woodstock Rd (Jesus College Annex) at the corner of Woodstock and Farndon roads from July 12- August 7/8.

Mail should always be sent to you at:

Jesus College
YOUR NAME
Florida Tech Group
Turl Street
Oxford, England
OX1 3DW
United Kingdom

Phone for Jesus College Porter’s Lodge:

From US – 011-44-1865-279700
From UK – 01865-279700
Heather Cudmore’s UK mobile # – TBA July 1
From the UK on a UK phone – TBA July 1

Only prior to June 28 departure:

Heather Cudmore’s US mobile #: 1-321-693-5256

The above schedule is subject to change.

Check email at least twice daily for updates while in Oxford.

Check email daily during summer break prior to departure.