Florida Institute of Technology

June 24–Aug. 4, 2016

Oxford Program 2015 Intinerary                                                                 

Florida Tech Oxford Class & Activity Schedule 2015

Breakfast in the Hall 8–8:45 a.m. June 28–July 10

Lunch in Hall 12:30–1:15 p.m. June 30, July 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10

Saturday, June 27:
Arrive in Oxford, check into Jesus College, Turl Street
6 p.m. Casual dinner at Jesus College (included)

 

Sunday, June 28 – Breakfast
Free morning/afternoon Use the ATM, have lunch, shop for school supplies, etc. You may wish to hear the boys’ choir at Christ Church Cathedral. It is their last service of the summer with the famous boys’ choir. Free entry. Service begins 11:15 a.m. Walk from Jesus College at 10:40 a.m.
1:00 p.m. Group meeting at Jesus College – welcome, intro to the college, logistics for classes, etc.
10/15GBP for dinner extra collected here.
3 p.m. Walking tour – Gather at Jesus College main entrance (front quad) for Oxford city guided walking tour. We will break into 3 groups.  Wear sneakers/good walking shoes. Bring camera & umbrella. Ends 4:30pm.
6:30 p.m. Photos in the quad, 7 p.m. – Opening dinner in Jesus College Hall or Mansell Room - dress up please

 

GENERAL CLASS SCHEDULE 2015

8:00am-10:00am Calculus 2

8:00am-10:00am Marketing 

10:00am-12:00pm Differential Equations

10am-12pm World Religions

12-2pm International Marketing Principles/Mgmt

12:00pm-2:00pm Calc 3

*Lunch in Hall (buffet): 12:30-1:15pm only on designated days 

2-4pm: Oxford Authors

2-4pm: Sci Tech Comm

4-6pm Civ. 2

 


All classes are subject to slight time adjustments (including lengthened classes on non-trip/ non-weekend days) by professors.

 

Monday, June 29 – Breakfast
Optional Trip to London (return train, Tower of London, London Show)
8:30 a.m. Meet at Jesus College Ship St. side 4th Quod entrance. Walk to train station.
9 a.m. departure
10 a.m. (approx.) London arrival
11:30-1:30 p.m. (approx.) Tower of London http://www.hrp.org.uk/TowerOfLondon/
1:30 p.m. (approx.) Depart Tower for walk or tube to Trafalgar Square or other group destination.
2-7 p.m. Free time in London. Suggestions will be discussed, but include National Gallery, China Town, Sherlock Holmes Pub, Evensong service at Westminster Abbey Cathedral, etc.

7:30 p.m.

11:30 p.m.

Theatre- Elephant Man

Depart London Paddington to Oxford

12:30 a.m. (approx.) Arrive Oxford

 

Tuesday, June 30 –  Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Wednesday, July 1 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Thursday, July 2 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch. Wicked tonight (optional)

 

Friday, July 3–Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Saturday July 4  – Breakfast 

Stonehenge, Laycock field trip 9am-6pm

 

Sunday, July 5- Breakfast  FREE DAY

Optional Bike trip

 

 

Monday, July 6 – Breakfast – BATH DAY
8:40 a.m. Depart Jesus College entrance on Turl St. for short walk to coach (Tappins/Heyfordian Coaches). Coach departs between 8:45am
Approx 11 a.m. Arrive Bath
11am-2pm Group walking tour, lunch on your own, town exploration
2-5:30 p.m. Bath Thermae Spa or free time in Bath
6:30-7:50 p.m. Ancient Roman Baths Museum
8 p.m. Depart Bath (coach parked at Bath Abbey)
APPROX 9:30 p.m. Arrive Oxford. Bring bathing suit if you wish to visit the Bath Thermae Spa (included event. towel, robe, slippers, locker provided)

 

Tuesday, July 7 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Wednesday, July 8 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch

 

Thursday, July 9 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch.  Pack tonight for Friday move to flats.

 

Friday, July 10 – Breakfast
Classes and lunch.  Moving Day

 

Saturday, July 11: Free Day

Sunday, July 12:

Blenheim Palace &Cotswolds
9 a.m. Depart Oxford from 121 Woodstock Rd. (Tappins/Heyfordian)
approx 9:30 a.m. Palace- gardens, palace, tour, pleasure garden
1pm Walk to The Bear in Woodstock for Lunch (1:30-3pm)
4-6 p.m. Cotswold Wildlife Park(including diner on your own)
6 p.m. Dinner in Burford Village (on your own)
8:30 p.m. Arrive Oxford

 

 

Monday, July 13:

Classes


 

Tuesday July 14:

Classes

Dinner at The Trout. Arrive by 6:45.


 

Wednesday, July 15:
Classes


 

July 16: Classes
July 16-20 – 4pm departure for Ireland 4 day weekend (Th-Mon)

 

Tuesday-Friday, July 21-24:

Classes

 

July 24: Paris departure approx 1pm


July 25- July 28 – Free 4 day weekend

 

Wednesday, July 29:
Classes

 

Thursday, July 30:

Classes

 


Friday, July 31:
Classes

 

Saturday and Sunday, August 1 and 2 – Study Days

 

Monday, August 3:
Class review day

 

Tuesday, Aug 4 –  Exams
Final dinner
6:30(Please dress up)

 

Wednesday, August 5 – Free Day
(Be sure to PACK).
You may depart on this day, but not before.

 

Thursday, August 6:
Final morning of Jesus College housing. Depart by 11 a.m.

You will live at Jesus College, Turl Street, Oxford OX13DW from June 27 - July 10 and at Stevens Close, 121 Woodstock Rd (Jesus College Annex) at the corner of Woodstock and Farndon roads from July 10- August 6.

Mail should always be sent to you at:

Jesus College
YOUR NAME
Florida Tech Group
Turl Street
Oxford, England
OX1 3DW
United Kingdom

Phone for Jesus College Porter’s Lodge:

From US – 011-44-1865-279700
From UK – 01865-279700
Heather Emmert’s UK mobile # – TBA June 29
From the UK on a UK phone – TBA June 29

Only prior to June 25:

Heather Emmert’s US mobile #: 1-321-693-5256

The above schedule is subject to change.

Check email at least twice daily for updates while in Oxford.

Check email daily during summer break prior to departure.