Animal Use Committee - IACUC

The Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) is responsible for the use of vertebrate animals or animal tissues obtained from non-commercial sources in research projects at Florida Tech.

Listed below are the Florida Tech Policies on the Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, the Animal Use Application Form, and a link to NIH's site regarding Laboratory Animal Welfare.

To obtain IACUC approval, the principal investigator should complete the application form and submit it to the Chairperson of the IACUC at least four (4) weeks prior to the use of material or prior to the submission of the proposal.

The printed version of the Animal Use Approval Form can also be obtained from the Chairperson of the IACUC, who can also furnish any additional information, if needed. The current Chairperson of the IACUC is Michael Grace, Ph.D., College of Science, Biological Sciences Department (321-674-8194 or mgrace@fit.edu).

Florida Tech Related Forms and Policies

Florida Tech Related Links

Additional Resources

Members

Dr. Michael Grace
Chair
Biological Sciences
(321) 674-8194
mgrace@fit.edu
Dr. Deb Anderson
Veterinarian/Brevard Zoo
(321) 254-9453 ext. 50
danderson@brevardzoo.org
Dr. Stephen Joiner
Veterinarian/Animal Medical Clinic
(321) 727-2421
sjoiner@animal-medical-clinic.com
Dr. Jonathan Shenker
Biological Sciences
(321) 674-8145
shenker@fit.edu
Ms. Michelle Smurl
Curator of Animals/Brevard Zoo
(321) 254-9453 ext. 17
msmurl@brevardzoo.org
Dr. Jane Tolbert
Humanities/Communication
(321) 674-7491
jtolbert@fit.edu
Mr. John Politano
Assistant Vice President for Research
Office of Sponsored Programs
(321) 674-7239
jpolitan@fit.edu