Contact Information

On this page:

 

Confidentiality and Privacy

The University is committed to protecting the privacy of all individuals involved in a report of sexual misconduct. In any report under this policy, every effort will be made to protect the privacy interests of all individuals involved in a manner consistent with the need for a thorough review of the allegation.

The privacy of the parties will be respected and safeguarded at all times. All University employees who are involved in the University’s Title IX response, including hearing panel members, receive specific training and guidance about safeguarding private information.

Confidentiality and Privacy have distinct meanings under this policy.

Confidentiality. Confidentiality means that personally identifying information (names or information that directly or indirectly identifies the individuals involved in the incident) shared by an individual with designated campus
or community professionals cannot be revealed to any other individual without express permission of the individual, unless there are circumstances posing an imminent risk of harm to self or others. Community members wishing to seek completely confidential assistance may do so by speaking with professionals who are mandated by law to protect
the confidentiality of a disclosure. On campus, these professionals include the counselors at Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS), the medical staff at Holzer Student Health Center, and Religious Advisers.

When a report involves suspected abuse of a minor under the age of 18, all employees, including these confidential resources are required by state law to notify local law enforcement.

Privacy. Privacy generally means that information related to a report of misconduct will only be shared with a limited circle of individuals. The use of this information is limited to those University employees who “need to know” in order to assist in the active review, investigation, or resolution of the report. While not bound by confidentiality, these individuals will be discreet and respect the privacy of all individuals involved in the process.

Responsible. Any other University employee who is not designated as a confidential resource under this policy (wording: Title IX vs. this policy?) is required to share a report of sexual misconduct with the Title IX coordinator or deputy Title IX coordinator. This team, led by the Title IX coordinator, will conduct an initial assessment of the conduct, the complainant’s desired course of action, and the necessity for any interim remedies or accommodations to protect the safety of the complainant or the community. The goal is to eliminate any hostile environment.

The University will seek action consistent with the complainant’s request where possible. Where a complainant makes a report but requests that a name or other identifiable information not be shared with the respondent or that no formal action be taken, the University will balance this request with its dual obligation to provide a safe and non-discriminatory environment for all Florida Institute of Technology community members and to remain true to principles of fundamental fairness that require notice and an opportunity to respond before action is taken against a respondent.

Source: http://www.swarthmore.edu/student-handbook/statement-regarding-privacy

 

Title IX Coordinator and staff contact information

Title IX Coordinator
Dr. Joni Oglesby
Chief Diversity Officer and Title IX Coordinator
TitleIXCoordinator@fit.edu
(321) 674-8700

Deputy Title IX Coordinator
Kevin Graham
Security Director
kgraham@fit.edu
321-674-8111

Deputy Title IX Coordinator
Rodney Bowers
Dean of Students
rbowers@fit.edu
321-674-8080  

 

Deputy Title IX Coordinators:
Kevin Graham
Director of Security
kgraham@fit.edu
321-674-8111

Rodney Bowers  
Dean of Students 
rbowers@fit.edu    
321-674-8080
       
Jennifer Mercurio
Assoc. Dir., Athletics Compliance
jmercurio@fit.edu
321-674-8931

Judith Brooke
Director, ISSS
jbrooke@fit.edu
321-674-8053 
Brian Ehrlich
Assoc. VP, Online Learning
behrlich@fit.edu
321-674-8202
Greg Graham
Asst. VP, Business & Retail Operations
ggraham@fit.edu
321-674-7707

Gregory Connell
Assistant Director Residence Life
gconnell@fit.edu
321-309-4500
Linda Jancheson 
Employee Relations Manager
ljancheson@fit.edu 
321-674-7277
Jacqueline Hetherington
Residence Life Coordinator
jhetherington@fit.edu
321-309-4840
Erica Richardson
Asst. Dir., Student Activities
erichardson@fit.edu 
321-607-8022 

Danielle Schukoske 
Program Manager Online Learning
dschukoske@fit.edu 
321-674-8207

Deputy Title IX Coordinators (Confidential):
Father Doug Bailey
Catholic Campus Chaplain  
dbailey@fit.edu
321-674-8045
Rev. Darice Dawson
Protestant Campus Chaplin 
dawson@fit.edu 
321-733-3704
Deborah Marino
Director, Health Center
healthcenter@fit.edu
321-674-8078
Dr. Robyn Tapley
Director, Student Counseling Center (CAPS) 
caps@fit.edu
321-674-8050
Mischka Maxwell  
Risk Manager/Ombudsman 
mmaxwell@fit.edu 
321-674-7297