Program Statement

Dear FIT students,

Although this message is intended for you, I also want to remind the entire Florida Tech community about Title IX and the University’s commitment to providing a safe and healthy learning experience and campus environment.

Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 to the 1964 Civil Rights Act states: “No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subject to discrimination under any educational program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.”

 Here’s what you need to know about Title IX:

  • Gender or sex-based discrimination comes in a variety of forms including:
    • Sexual harassment
    • Sexual misconduct
    • Sexual assault
    • Relationship violence
    • Sexual exploitation
    • Stalking
  • Sexual harassment, including sexual assault, is banned by Title IX.
    • Did You Know? Sexual harassment creates a hostile environment when it interferes with or limits a student’s ability to participate in or benefit from an educational program.
  • If a school knows about sexual harassment, Title IX requires the school to take immediate action to eliminate the harassment and prevent its recurrence.
    • Did You Know? Even if you file a police report, FIT is independently required to investigate the assault.
  • Sexual assault is a physical sexual act done against a person’s will.
    • Did You Know? Sexual assault includes situations in which a person is incapable of giving consent due to drug or alcohol use.
  • All incidents of sexual misconduct should be immediately reported.
    • Did You Know? FIT employees are mandated to report information related to gender-based sexual harassment and sexual misconduct. (*Title IX allows clergy, healthcare providers, and ombudsmen [See list below.] to maintain confidentiality. Exceptions may apply.) (source: Grand Canyon University)

The administration, faculty, and staff of Florida Tech work together to achieve a safe campus through educational programs and campaigns, policy development and enforcement, promoting healthy social norms, and involving multiple stakeholders in prevention efforts.

 Thank you for choosing to complete your education at the Florida Institute of Technology.  Be assured that we are committed to fostering a campus culture that is safe and supportive of all of our students, administrators, faculty and staff.

Joni F. Oglesby, Ph.D., SHRM-SCP, SPHR
Chief Diversity Officer/Title IX Coordinator
Florida Institute of Technology
Miller Bldg., Room 137 (next to Tech Support)
Tel:  321.674.8700
Email: TitleIXCoordinator@fit.edu

Title IX Coordinator and staff contact information

Title IX Coordinator
Dr. Joni Oglesby
Chief Diversity Officer and Title IX Coordinator
TitleIXCoordinator@fit.edu
(321) 674-8700

Deputy Title IX Coordinator
Kevin Graham
Security Director
kgraham@fit.edu
321-674-8111

Deputy Title IX Coordinator
Rodney Bowers
Dean of Students
rbowers@fit.edu
321-674-8080  

 

Deputy Title IX Coordinators:
Kevin Graham
Director of Security
kgraham@fit.edu
321-674-8111

Rodney Bowers  
Dean of Students 
rbowers@fit.edu    
321-674-8080
       
Jennifer Mercurio
Assoc. Dir., Athletics Compliance
jmercurio@fit.edu
321-674-8931

Judith Brooke
Director, ISSS
jbrooke@fit.edu
321-674-8053 
Brian Ehrlich
Assoc. VP, Online Learning
behrlich@fit.edu
321-674-8202
Greg Graham
Asst. VP, Business & Retail Operations
ggraham@fit.edu
321-674-7707

Gregory Connell
Assistant Director Residence Life
gconnell@fit.edu
321-309-4500
Linda Jancheson 
Employee Relations Manager
ljancheson@fit.edu 
321-674-7277
Jacqueline Hetherington
Residence Life Coordinator
jhetherington@fit.edu
321-309-4840
Erica Richardson
Asst. Dir., Student Activities
erichardson@fit.edu 
321-607-8022 

Danielle Schukoske 
Program Manager Online Learning
dschukoske@fit.edu 
321-674-8207


Deputy Title IX Coordinators (Confidential):
Father Doug Bailey
Catholic Campus Chaplain  
dbailey@fit.edu
321-674-8045
Rev. Darice Dawson
Protestant Campus Chaplin 
dawson@fit.edu 
321-733-3704
Deborah Marino
Director, Health Center
healthcenter@fit.edu
321-674-8078
Dr. Robyn Tapley
Director, Student Counseling Center (CAPS) 
caps@fit.edu
321-674-8050
Mischka Maxwell  
Risk Manager/Ombudsman 
mmaxwell@fit.edu 
321-674-7297