Chemistry

Chemistry

Chemistry Faculty and Staff

All phone numbers use area code 321. Faculty offices are located in the Olin Physical Sciences builidng (OPS). See the campus map for location. The chemistry program fax number is 674-8951.

 Chemistry Program Chair

Andy Knight

Professor and Program Chair

Office: 103 and 316 OPS

aknight@fit.edu

674-8175

Faculty Profile

Inorganic chemistry, catalysis, materials, organometallics, chemistry for defense applications, green technologies

 

Chemistry Faculty


  

Boris Akhremitchev

Associate Professor

338 OPS

bakhremitchev@fit.edu

674-8587

 

Faculty Profile

Biophysical and physical chemistry, atomic force microscopy 

 

Alan B. Brown

Associate Professor

Office: 322 OPS

abrown@fit.edu

674-7433

Faculty Profile

Structural organic chemistry

 

Christopher D. Chouinard

Assistant Professor

Office: 218 OPS

cchouinard@fit.edu

Phone: 674-8173

 

Faculty Profile

Ion Mobility-Mass Spectrometry (IM-MS), Metabolomics & Lipidomics, Gas-Phase Chemistry and Structure

 

Andy Knight

Professor and Program Chair

Office: 103 and 316 OPS

aknight@fit.edu

674-8175

Faculty Profile

Inorganic chemistry, catalysis, materials, organometallics, chemistry for defense applications, green technologies

 

Yi Liao

Professor

Office: 310 OPS

yliao@fit.edu

674-8043

 

Faculty Profile

Photochemistry and organic materials

 

Gordon Nelson

University Professor

Office: River's Edge Main - Building A, 122N 

nelson@fit.edu

674-8480

Faculty Profile

polymers, polymer degradation and flammability, flame retardant materials, nanocomposites, combustions product toxicity, polymer aging and weathering, coating adhesion to plastic substrates

 

Nasri Nesnas

Professor

Office: 323 OPS

nesnas@fit.edu

674-8902

 

Faculty Profile

Synthetic organic, biomimetic, bioorganic and physical organic chemistry

 

Joel Olson

Associate Professor

Office: 222 OPS

jolson@fit.edu

674-7350

 

 Faculty Profile

Research Group Website

Materials, chemistry of surfaces and interfaces, microscopy, chemical sensors, chemical education

 

Roberto Peverati

Assistant Professor

Office: 324 OPS 

rpeverati@fit.edu

674-7735

Research Group Website

Theoretical and computational chemistry for spectroscopy and energy science, molecular modeling for medicinal and synthetic chemistry

 

Joshua Rokach

Professor, Director of the Claude Pepper Institute for Aging and Therapeutic Research

Office: 334 OPS

jrokach@fit.edu

674-7329

 

Faculty Profile

Bioorganic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, natural product chemistry

 

 

Alex Schoedel

Assistant Professor

Office: 217 OPS

aschoedel@fit.edu

674-7431

 

Faculty Profile

Research Group Website

Inorganic chemistry, reticular chemistry of functional porous materials, design of metal-organic frameworks and new linkers

 

Jessica Smeltz

Assistant Professor, General Chemistry Coordinator

Office: 127 OPS

jsmeltz@fit.edu

674-8572

 

 

Inorganic chemistry

 

Norito Takenaka

Associate Professor

Office: 220 OPS

ntakenaka@fit.edu

674-7310

 

 Faculty Profile

Organic chemistry 

 

 

Robert Usselman

Assistant Professor

russelman@fit.edu

 

 

Quantum biology, electron paramagnetic resonance

 

Rudi Wehmschulte

Professor

Office: 314 OPS

rwehmsch@fit.edu

674-7659

 

Faculty Profile 

Main group chemistry, main group organometallic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, materials chemistry, catalysts

 

Kurt Winkelmann

Associate Professor

Office: 120 OPS

kwinkel@fit.edu

674-7376

Faculty Profile

Research Group Website 

Chemical and nanotechnology education, physical chemistry, photochemistry, nanomaterial synthesis, environmental chemistry

 

Chemistry Staff

Wilma Cohen

Administrative Assistant

Office: 103 OPS

wcohen@fit.edu

674-8046

John Brady

Stockroom Manager

Office: 112 OPS

bradyj@fit.edu

674-7465 

 

Chemistry Faculty Emeriti and Emerita

 

Michael Babich 

Professor Emeritus

Babich@fit.edu

 

 

Inorganic chemistry

 

J. Clayton Baum

Professor Emeritus

227 OPS

cbaum@fit.edu

 

Physical chemistry, including spectroscopic and computational investigation of ground and excited state molecular properties; optical sensors

 

Mary L. Sohn

Professor Emeritus

msohn@fit.edu

 

 

Analytical, environmental and geochemistry