SunTrust Scholarship


General Endowment


$161,873 (2021)

Year Established



Provide scholarships. (GF000018)


This scholarship is awarded by the Office of Financial Aid office with preference given to Bevard County residents, then Florida, then other.


Based in Atlanta, SunTrust bank was the ninth largest bank in the U.S. as of 2004. On February 2, 1988, SunTrust Bank pledged $100,000 to Florida Tech. Awardees are selected by the Florida Tech director of Financial Aid. Bevard County residents are given preference in receiveing this scholarship, then Florida residents, and then everyone else. In addition, maintaining a good academic standing permitted awardees to renew their award until their graduation.


1990                            Andrew Griffith

                                        Stephen Lee Browh

1991                            John H. Canada

                                        Derek Sean Novak

1994                            Craig L. Coleman

                                        Kimberly R. Ballard

                                        David Anthony Landers

                                        Rich H. Lanoue               

1996                            Heather E. Wood

                                        Wendy L. Jacobs

                                        Melissa Rene Ellis

                                        Brandy Starr Douglas

1997                            Alice A. Miller

                                        Tony T. Nguyen

1998                            Andrew Tonkin

1999                            Timothy D. Jace

                                        Stephen G. Katchur

                                        Jacob W. Segalla

2000                            Stephen George Katchur

                                        Jacob William Segalla

                                        Luke Solomon Alexander

                                        Timothy David Jace

2001                            Luke S. Alexander

                                        Timothy David Jace

                                        Michael G. Workman

2002                            Luke Solomon Alexander

                                        Bryan Lee Puckett

                                        Angela Anna Jennings

2003                            Shayla S. Fisher

                                        Angela A. Jennings

2004                            Shayla S. Fisher

                                        Angela A. Jennings

2005                            Shayla S. Fisher

                                        Angela A. Jennings

2006                            Joel Acevedo

                                        Johan A. Woger

                                        Matthew D. Woods

2007                            Joel Acevedo

                                        Matthew D. Woods

2008                            Joel Acevedo

                                        Matthew D. Woods

                                        Eric A. Rivera

2009                            Sierra Cullati

2010                            Joshua Dariel McKinnon

                                        David Michael DeBoth

2011                            Jeffrey Edward Fuller

                                        David Michael DeBoth           

2012                            Lea Taryn Zero

                                        Jeffrey Edward Fuller

                                        Nathan Walter Mertins

                                        Derek Mark Gagnon

                                        Joshua E. Crespo

2013                            Donovan Anthony Wetterstein                      

2014                            Donovan Anthony Wetterstein          

2015                            Donovan Anthony Wetterstein           

                                        Ryen Forry

2016                            Pedro Juan Chavarriaga

                                        Brian Christopher Finnell

                                        Ryen Forry

2017                            Brian Christopher Finnell

                                        Brent Sherman Allard

                                        Ryen Forry

2018                            Caroline Maria Cooper

                                        Richard Everett Eugene Dunham

2019                            Caroline Cooper

                                        Richard Dunham

2020                            Alecea Nelson

                                        Nick Watts

2021                            Alecea Nelson

                                        John Tu