Software Engineering Scholarship


General Endowment


$358,265 (2021)

Year Established



Scholarship for students studying software engineering. (GF000050)


This scholarship is administered by the Office of Financial Aid.


James Whittaker, distinguished engineer and technical evangelist, received this BA in Computer Science and Math from Bellarmine University in 1987 and his PhD in Computer Science from University of Tennessee, Knoxville in 1992. 

James has worked in well-known companies such as the FBI, IBM, Microsoft and Google. In 1986, he became the first computer science graduate hired by the FBI, working as Programmer and System Admin. In 1989, he worked as consultant at IBM for three years, and then, in 1991, as Software Developer at Software Engineering Technology for five years. After that, he founded Security Innovation, which is an authority on application security and leading independent provider of Risk Assessment, Risk Mitigation, and Education services to Fortune/Global 500 and mid-size companies. In 1996 and for almost 10 years, James was Professor of Computer Science at Florida Institute of Technology. Later, he joined Microsoft where his first stint was in Trustworthy Computing and Visual Studio. He then joined Google as an Engineering Director and lead teams working on Chrome, Maps and Google+/ for almost three years. In 2012, he rejoined Microsoft and has held the Partner Development Manager position and Distinguished Engineer and Technical Evangelist, which is his current position.  

James is known for being a creative and passionate leader and sought-after speaker. He is author of five books which two of them have been Jolt Award finalists.


 2019                            Phi Duong

                                         Andrea Swanson

                                         Brandon Sawyer 

                                         Isaiah Thomas

2020                             Phi Duong

                                         Xabier Gainza

                                         Isaiah Thomas

                                         Noah Wilson 

2021                             Phi Duong
                                         Xabier Gainza

                                         Isaiah Thomas

                                         Noah Wilson