Henry L. and Grace Doherty Visiting Professorship


Professorship / Research Fund


$1,294,115 (2021)

Year Established



Funds will allow for visiting professorships within the Department of Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences. (GF000106)


The occupant of this chair would be chosen for their interdisciplinary accomplishments that would benefit not only the Department of Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences, but the entire Florida Tech community. Contract typically associated with one-year visit and in exceptional circumstances, a one-year extension.


Henry Latham Doherty was born in May 15th, 1870 in Columbus, Ohio. He was a leader in the oil industry, president and co-founder of the Cities Service Company- which later became CITGO Petroleum Corporation, and philanthropist.

When he was only 12 years old, Doherty was hired by Columbus Gas Company and worked his way up to become the Chief Engineer at the age of 20. Later, Doherty became acting president and treasurer of the Denver Gas & Electric Company. In 1905, he started Henry L. Doherty & Co., a company that provided technical and financial consulting services to utility companies, and five years later, he had begun Cities Service Company. Additionally, in 1916, he established the Doherty Energy Research Laboratory Co. (DORELCO) in Oklahoma.

Doherty was recognized and awarded several times for his contributions to the development of scientific methodology in the petroleum industry. Correspondingly, he was awarded the Franklin Institute’s Walton Clark Medal in 1931 and, in 1969, Columbia University added his name to the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory.

Doherty met Mrs. Grace Eames in New York, NY, got married in 1928 and adopted her daughter from a previous marriage. Henry Doherty died in December 26th, 1939. However, The Henry L. and Grace Doherty Charitable Foundation, located in New York, NY, primary promotes the marine science and education, and assists institutions engaged in oceanographic activities. 

2000                 Dr. Anne C. Steinmann

2001                 Dr. Joseph A. Angelo

2002                 Dr. Stefan M. Groghowalski

2003                 Dr. Michael Hartnett

2004                 Ms. Diane D. Barile

2004                 Mr. Frank R. Leslie

2004                 Mr. Michael E. Splitt

2005                 Dr. In-Young Gong

2006                 Dr. Christopher Waldmann

2007                 Dr. Kenyon C. Lindeman

2008                 Dr. Martha F. Wolfe

2009                 Dr. Ronnal P. Reichard

2011–12           Mr. Christopher Combs

2013–14           Mr. Carlton R. Parks

2014–15           Ms. Leesa Souto

2016–17           Dr. Claudia Listopad

2017–18           Dr. John “Travis” Hunsucker

2018–19           Dr. Jeffry Eble

2019                 Dr. Christopher Collimore

2020–21           Mr. Joel Tumbiolo