Skip Navigation

Florida Tech community: Please view the Florida Tech Safe website for important COVID-19 information and "Return to Learn" plan details.

Teaching Council

Welcome To The Florida Tech Teaching Council

What's your teaching Philosophy?

Dr. Patterson discusses his deep interest in each of his students and adapting to create the best possible classroom environment.

Watch more teaching philosophy videos...

The Florida Tech Teaching Council was created to facilitate and support the teaching mission of the university, recommend good policies and practices related to teaching, promote new and innovative pedagogy, and recommend incentives for pursuing scholarly activities

Membership for the 2018-2019 academic year is shown below. Representatives from each of the colleges and schools were selected by the dean of that college/school. Representatives from the Evans Library, Instructional Technology, Extended Studies Division, and Online Learning were also identified.

Current Members:

 Chelsea Stripling


 Jared Campbell        


 Jason Griggs

 Instructional Technology

 Jeffrey Cerny


 Jim Reynolds 

 Online Programs

 Manolis Tomadakis           

 College of Engineering and Computing

 Robert Taylor 


 Mary Bonhomme


Brooke Wheeler

College of Aeronautics

          *Members have three-year, staggered terms.

The council agreed to establish task forces for the areas of improving pedagogy on campus.

The task forces formed are as followed:

  1. Resources and events 
  2. Evaluation
  3. Teaching improvement 
  4. Awards


Florida Tech Teaching Council emblem