National Academy Of Inventors


Imagination is more important than knowledge, for imagination embraces the world.  – Albert Einstein

In universities across the nation and around the world, great scientists, scholars and educators are teaching the next generation of researchers and inventors.

The National Academy of Inventors® (NAI) was founded at the University of South Florida to recognize and encourage inventors who have a patent issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO); enhance the visibility of university technology and academic innovation; encourage the disclosure of intellectual property; educate and mentor innovative students; and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society.

A researcher’s contribution reaches the benchmark of inventorship as recognized by the USPTO because its discovery had no significant prior art, was not obvious to someone else skilled in the field, and had a specific use. Although every invention and every inventor is unique, some things are common to all. It takes imagination and ingenuity to be an inventor.

Without inventors we would not have our iPads, smart phones, automobiles or new sources of energy.  As a society, we are eager in anticipation of the cure for cancer, HIV, diabetes, and neurological disorders such as Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s disease.  An inventor feels a sense of pride when the years of hard work come to fruition with either a miraculous discovery in medicine or the next generation of information technology.

Inventors truly should be recognized for their imagination and accomplishments, and called upon to share their special translational talents within the university and the wider community.

The Florida Institute of Technology Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) has been established to recognize the contributions of scientist-inventors across all disciplines in our university community.

Dr. Mary Helen McCay, University Research Professor, is the Founding President of the newly established chapter. Those inducted into our Local Chapter will be among the 2,200 NAI chapter members who collectively hold more than 14,000 issued U.S. patents.  All NAI Chapters are unique to their home institutions.


The Florida Institute of Technology Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors is open to all members of the university community, including faculty, staff, alumni and affiliates, who have received an issued patent from the USPTO.  An annual meeting and recognition ceremony will be held during the academic year and a list of members will be published in order to enhance networking, recognition, and the opportunity to share your experiences.

Membership in the NAI is available through local university chapters or NAI Fellowship.  Chapter members are automatically enrolled as members of the NAI, with all rights and privileges thereof.  For more information on the National Academy of Inventors, visit

The NAI publishes the multidisciplinary journal Technology and Innovation, Journal of the National Academy of Inventors®.


Dr. William Allen III
Dr. William Arrasmith
Dr. Siddhartha Bhattacharyya
Dr. Kenia Nunes Bruhn
Dr. Marco Carvalho, Dean- CoE
Dr. Fran Cirillo
Mr. Doug Chapman
Mr. Anthony DeTroia
Dr. Thomas Eskridge
Mr. Ken Ernandes
Dr. Michael Freund
Dr. Hamid Hefazi
Dr. Pei-Feng Hsu
Mr. Robert Keimer
Dr. Veton Kepuska
Dr. Brian Lail
Dr. David LeVan
Dr. Yi Liao
Dr. Mary Helen McCay
President T. Dwayne McCay
Dr. Kunal Mitra
Dr. Syed Murshid
Dr. Gordon Nelson
Mr. John Nierwinski
Dr. Hakeem Oluseyi
Mr. Daniel Owen
Mr. Greg Peebles
Dr. Adrian Peter
Dr. Hamid Rassoul, Dean - CoS
Dr. Ronnal Reichard
Mr. Steve Rivet
Dr. Joshua Rokach
Dr. Razvan Rusovici
Dr. George Rybicki
Dr. Steven Shaw
Dr. Anthony Smith
Mr. Jerome Sonnenberg
Dr. Lucas Stephane
Dr. Chelakara Subramanian
Dr. Nakin Suksawang
Dr. Geoffrey Swain
Dr. G. Bhaskar Tenali
Dr. Donna Wilt
Dr. Stephen Wood
Dr. Shengyuan Yang