The Protection of Minors Frequently Asked Questions
“Minor” for purposes of this policy means any person under the age of 18 years who has not matriculated to the university.
Activities where minors are being supervised by their parent/legal guardian or similar circumstance would not fall under the policy.
Yes. All faculty, staff, students, and volunteers who are involved in a university-affiliated program or activity involving minors must comply with this policy.
Yes. Responsible persons proposing a university sponsored program are required to complete and submit a Minor Program Registrations Form to the Office of University Events and Protocol at least 45 days prior to the Program.
Responsible persons shall submit a Florida Department of Families and Children’s Services, “Child Care Attestation of Good Moral Character” form for all staff and volunteers to the Office of University Events and Protocol prior to commencement of a Program.
All camp registrations must be processed through ARMS.
Yes. Non-university entities use of university facilities for programs involving minors requires approval of the Office of University Events and Protocol. The responsible party must execute a Facility Use Agreement and provide proof of primary and excess insurance coverage for acts of sexual abuse or molestations committed by its representatives, employees, and volunteers in an amount of at least $1 million dollars per occurrence with a $2 million aggregate amount for the policy period. The non-university entity must provide properly executed university approved waiver of liability forms for all participating minors. All non-university entities must certify
Note: All non-university entities must certify that they have conducted background checks equivalent to or above the State of Florida Level 2 Standard for all of its employees and volunteers who will be interacting with minors, and their supervisors.
All program staff are required to do training on conduct requirements of this policy, on protecting minors from abusive emotional and physical treatment, and on appropriate or required reporting of incidents of improper conduct to the proper authorities.
All responsible parties are required to complete the online (minor) training provided by the Office of Compliance and Risk Management every three years.
Exception: University faculty and staff on campus who only interact in academic courses with matriculated students or dual-enrollment high school students under the age of 18 are not obligated to complete the online training required by this policy.
The university is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of all minors on campus who participate in university programs or activities and in programs that non-university organizations operate on campus.
Criminal background checks may reveal prior convictions that would make it inappropriate for someone to participate in a program or activity with minors.
All adults who will be interacting with minors in the programs must have completed a criminal background check through the Office of Human Resources within the last year. Except where required by law, criminal background checks of University faculty, staff, students and volunteers that are conducted pursuant to this policy, will be used only for purposes of confirming that the subject does not possess a criminal background that poses a risk to minors. The results will otherwise be kept confidential and maintained separately from the individual’s personnel or student file.
- Camp volunteers who are expected to contribute less than 10 hours of time per month are exempt from the criminal background check requirements.
- University faculty and staff on campus who only interact in academic courses with matriculated students or dual-enrollment high school students under the age of 18 are not obligated to undergo a background check.
Yes, certain Florida background check records are subject to limitations under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act or FCRA. According to FCRA’s 7-year rule, certain criminal records must be removed from the individual’s history after seven years. Additionally, the FCRA requires employers who run background check to ensure the information in the report is current and accurate. If it is not, an applicant has the right to dispute background check’s contents, which will trigger an investigation by the reporting agency.
Exceptions to this policy include:
- Single events on campus that are open to the public.
- Campus tours, or visits attended by prospective students who are minors and under the supervision of a parent or legal guardian.
Anyone participating in a University Program or activity or an affiliated program or activity who has reason to suspect that a Minor is the victim of abuse or neglect or has other concerns about the safety of a Minor, MUST, inform Campus Security. In addition, they should inform the Responsible Party.
Under Florida state law, any person who knows of, or has reasonable cause to suspect, child abuse, abandonment, or neglect must report this to the state. Even if a report is made to university security and/or administration, report must be made directly to the state as well. This applies in any instance involving a Minor under the age of 18, regardless of whether the Minor is an admitted or enrolled student. Under the State of Florida’s Protection of Vulnerable Persons Act, every individual in Florida is required to immediately report known or suspected child abuse and child sexual abuse, neglect, or abandonment to the Florida Department of Children and Family Services’ Abuse Hotline. To report known or suspected child abuse, neglect, or abandonment to the Abuse Hotline please go to: Safety and Protection | Florida DCF (myflfamilies.com), call toll-free 800-962-2873 (TDD 711 or 800-955-8771
The University’s Whistleblower Policy protects individuals from retaliation who make good faith reports about problems.