Original Policy Date:
All Florida Tech Staff, Faculty and Students
Policy Owner: Office of Compliance and Risk Management
The purpose of this policy is to establish a university policy for driving on official university business, to define the procedures in place to minimize the potential for accidents and losses, and ensure safety for all drivers, passengers, and pedestrians. Vehicle operation represents a significant source of potential loss exposure for the University. Accidents can result in losses arising from injuries to employees or others and property damage to university vehicles and private property.
This policy applies to all students, staff, and faculty who are approved to drive University-owned, leased, rented, or borrowed vehicles. This will include employees who are required to drive university vehicles as an integral part of their work.
University vehicles driven on Florida Institute of Technology ("University") business shall be operated in a safe manner, in compliance with all state laws and applicable University policies, rules and regulations. Only properly qualified and authorized persons may drive on university business. University owned, leased, rented, or borrowed vehicles may only be used for official, authorized purposes; personal use is prohibited. Drivers who fail to adhere to vehicle policies and procedures may have their driving privileges suspended and are subject to disciplinary action up to and including termination.
Prospective drivers of university vehicles must be approved by the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
Faculty, staff, and students must complete the following registration process:
- Have a current, valid US state driver’s license
- Note: For employees, an out-of-state driver's license is valid upon hire; however, employees must obtain and resubmit a valid Florida driver's license to the Office of Compliance and Risk Management within the first 90 days of employment to be authorized to drive university vehicles.
- Complete, sign, and submit the Motor Vehicle Record MVR Florida Tech Consent Form, a copy of driver's license, and the Florida Tech MVR Spreadsheet Template (documents must be completed forwarded to the Office of Compliance and Risk Management).
- IMPORTANT NOTE: Current employees, faculty, and students do not need to complete and submit an MVR to drive university golf carts. New employees, faculty, and students driving golf carts, please complete the golf/utility cart training arranged by the Office of Compliance and Risk Management. Email email@example.com to be enrolled in the course. Please include the following: name, identification number (900#), and department.
In order to drive a university vehicle, the following must be met:
- Be at least 18 years of age to drive University owned and leased vehicles– age restriction in Florida.
- IMPORTANT: When renting university vans, the driver must be at least 21 years of age.
- NOTE: A Letter of Clearance from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) or from the driver's licensing state is required to attest one's cleared suspension.
IMPORTANT: Drivers must notify their supervisor immediately if their drivers’ license is suspended or revoked or they receive a traffic citation. Failure to promptly provide the required notice may result in disciplinary action or in appropriate cases, termination of employment.
The following University members are eligible to become approved drivers of university vehicles:
- Faculty and Staff- job roles require driving university vehicles.
- Faculty and Staff- serves as an advisor to an organization/club on campus.
- Student Employee – needs to be identified and approved by the supervisor.
- Student – active in an organization on campus or representing department, with approval by supervising professor.
Restrictions for Student Drivers
Students may not drive University owned, leased, rented, or borrowed vehicles outside of the State of Florida without first obtaining written permission from the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
Personal Vehicle for University Business
Use of Personal Vehicle for University Business and used for business purposes is not covered by the University's insurance. All drivers are insured by their own insurance. The insurance must meet the liability insurance requirements of the motor vehicle financial responsibility laws of the state in which the employee lives. Any individual who drives his or her personal vehicle to an activity assumes all responsibility for the safety of himself/herself as well as any passengers. The University bears no liability for student use of personal vehicles. Please see Travel Policy for additional information regarding the use of personal automobiles and travel reimbursement.
The University reserves the right to require training or retrain all drivers at the discretion of the Office of Compliance and Risk Management. All drivers of University fleet vehicles and all students driving on University business or for any university-related activity must complete and pass the assigned compliance driving training course. If the University determines that such training is necessary and the driver fails to complete the training within 90 days of notification by the University, the University shall revoke the driver's privilege to drive the University vehicle. Drivers who have been involved in an accident or who receive a moving violation may be required to take the mandatory refresher training course(s).
Every driver is subject to certain training requirements and the department must confirm completion of the following:
- All Drivers- Successfully completed the assigned compliance training courses based on the type of vehicle driving.
- Van Drivers –Individuals renting university vans must have successfully completed the Van Safety course arranged by the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
- Golf/Utility Cart Drivers – Successfully completed the golf/utility cart training arranged by the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
- Vehicle Specific Training – Some specialty vehicles (trolleys, vans, etc.) may require training for university drivers. The Department of Transportation Services will arrange additional training for each situation.
Parking and Driving on Campus
Drivers of University vehicles must comply with posted University parking and driving regulations.
University vehicles must be properly parked and secured when left unattended.
Misuse of University Vehicles:
The following are considered to be a misuse of University vehicles:
- Driving a university vehicle without prior authorization from the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
- Permitting someone who is not affiliated with the University to drive a university vehicle without prior authorization.
- Noncompliance with traffic/motor vehicle laws and regulations.
- Engaging in unsafe practices, including failure to use and to ensure that all passengers use all available safety equipment in the vehicle being operated. Safety equipment includes seatbelts and/or shoulder harnesses.
- The use of handheld or hands-free cell phones or other devices that take attention away from driving is prohibited by those driving university vehicles. If a call must be made during a trip, drivers must pull into a safe location and stop before making the call. If the driver receives an incoming call while driving, they must allow the call to go to voicemail and return the call when stopped in a safe location.
- Drivers will not operate a motor vehicle at any time when his/her ability is impaired, affected, or influenced by alcohol, illegal drugs, medication, illness, fatigue, or injury. Alcoholic beverages and/or illegal substances and any tobacco products are prohibited in university-insured vehicles, utility vehicles, and golf carts.
- When taking prescribed medications, it is important to know how that medication may affect your ability to drive. It is wise to speak with your physician about the type of work you perform. Many prescribed medications contain warnings not to operate heavy machinery or drive while taking the medication.
- Personal use of university vehicles or transporting passengers other than persons directly involved with official University business.
- Failure to comply with any law, regulation, or policy regarding the use of University vehicles, including the requirement to have a satisfactory completed University Driver Training course assigned by the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
Renting a Vehicle for University Business
Automobile rental is allowable for business travel only. The University recommends renting a vehicle from the preferred rental agencies on the Florida Tech Procurement travel website, Avis and Enterprise. If the driver rents a car from a rental car agency, the University's blanket auto insurance policy automatically covers these rentals, and it is not necessary to purchase additional insurance. If the traveler is renting a car in another country (other than the U.S.), it is required that the traveler purchase insurance at the time of rental. The Travel Policy provides additional information regarding automobile rental.
- University Vehicles Accident Notification
The driver of a University-owned, leased, rented or borrowed vehicle involved in an accident on or off-campus, regardless of fault, must:
- Notify local law enforcement immediately.
- Notify their supervisor, Florida Tech's Security Department, and the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
- The vehicle should not be moved until local police arrive at the accident location.
- The vehicle's glove box contains an envelope with the vehicle registration card and an insurance card (all University owned vehicles).
- Obtain the names and addresses of any witnesses to the accident and exchange drivers' license information if another vehicle is involved in the accident. If additional information is requested, refer the party marking the request to Florida Tech's Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
- Provide all documents (i.e., police report, rental car agreement (if applicable), and any other paperwork) to the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
- If an employee is injured in a vehicular accident, a worker's compensation report must be filed with the Office of Compliance and Risk Management.
Note: Notify Rental Agency if the vehicle is a rental.
- Personal Vehicle Accident Notification
The insurance policy of an employee or student involved in an accident using his or her own vehicle on University business is the primary source of coverage. Florida Tech's insurance policy is secondary and only provides liability coverage after the limits of the employee's or student's primary coverage are exhausted. The University does not provide collision/comprehensive damage insurance coverage for an employee or student vehicle engaged in university business.
Definitions (If Applicable)
University Driver: An employee (staff or faculty) of the University, at least eighteen years old, who is approved to drive a University vehicle under this policy; also employees at the University, at least eighteen years old, but subject to the limitations specified above in Driver Requirements; and,
Student: an active university student who is at least eighteen years old, who is approved to drive a university vehicle under this policy.
University Vehicle: All licensed vehicles owned, leased, rented or borrowed by Florida Tech. Types of vehicles include vans, cars, SUVs, etc.
University Business: those activities that further the mission of the University and, in the case of an employee of the University, are within the scope and authority of that person's employment.
Motor Vehicle Report ("MVR" ): the record of a person's driving history obtained from the Florida Division of Motor Vehicles or another state.
Compliance Reference (If Applicable)
All vehicles used to conduct University-related business must be operated in compliance with all state laws and all applicable University policies, rules, and regulations.
- Administrators, managers, and supervisors are responsible for ensuring that only properly qualified and authorized individuals are allowed to drive vehicles in support of university business, and activities under their direction and control.
- The Office of Human Resources is responsible to ensure that all staff who is required to drive University vehicles complete the registration process upon hire before authorizing them to drive.
- Individual department administrators are responsible for ensuring that staff, faculty, and students who are required to drive University vehicles complete the annual registration process before authorizing them to drive.
- All University staff, faculty, and student drivers are responsible for operating vehicles on university business in a safe and lawful manner at all times and for complying with all provisions of this policy. Drivers have specific responsibilities to only drive on university business when properly authorized and to immediately notify supervisors of accidents, injuries, loss of license, etc., as outlined in this policy.
- The Office of Compliance and Risk Management is responsible for providing coordination for the University's driving policy and the driver safety program, including:
- Coordinating motor vehicle record (MVR) review of drivers and providing driver authorization.
- Providing notification to drivers and supervisors concerning driver status, restrictions and required actions.
- Providing driver safety compliance training to meet the needs of the campus community.
- Coordinating insurance claims for losses involving university vehicles.
- Facilities and Transportation Services is responsible for the following:
- Providing a fleet of university vehicles for official use.
- Ensuring that annual safety inspections and appropriate repairs are made for all university vehicles.
Enforcement (If Applicable)
Violations of this policy may result in the suspension of University Vehicle driving privileges for an appropriate period of time. In addition, the driver may be subject to university disciplinary procedures.