University Diversity Council

University Diversity Council

Established and led by Dr. Marco Carvalho, Executive Vice President, Provost, and Chief Operating Officer, the University Diversity Council is comprised of representatives from the university’s colleges, key administrative units, faculty, and students.

In alignment with and support of the Florida Tech's mission to provide high-quality education to a culturally diverse student body in order to prepare students for entering the global workforce, seeking higher-education opportunities, and serving within their communities, the University Diversity Council is charged with advocating for diversity, equity and inclusion and serves as the advisory and recommending body to the Office of the Provost and liaison of academic and administrative units and student body across the university.

The Diversity Council is committed to serve as a guide to the executive leadership to help

  • promoting increased presence, retention, and advancement of all Florida Tech faculty, staff, and students,
  • identifying institutional-level priorities to build and maintain a diverse and inclusive university climate and culture,
  • providing platforms and resources for diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives,
  • extending diversity, equity and inclusion awareness throughout Florida Tech community,
  • integrating representation and inclusion strategies with Florida Tech's mission, vision and operations,
  • promoting, overseeing, and assessing diversity, equity and inclusion efforts across the university.


Diversity Council Leadership

Marco Carvalho, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President,  Provost and Chief Operating Officer & University Diversity Council Chair
Munevver Mine Subasi, Ph.D.
Associate Provost & University Diversity Council Co-Chair
Jessica Vinson
Vice President of Human Resources & University Diversity Council Co-Chair
Michael Splitt
Assistant Professor, College of Aeronautics
Ivonne A. Delgado Perez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Nathan M. Bisk College of Business & Academic Chair, Online Programs Management, Online Learning
Michael King, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Computer Engineering and Sciences
Marcus Hohlmann, Ph.D.
Professor, Aerospace, Physics, and Space Sciences
Felipa Chavez, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, School of Psychology, College of Psychology and Liberal Arts
Jessica Ickes
Vice President for Compliance and Accreditation
Pat Francois
Director of Human Resources
Andy McIlwraith
Chief Marketing Officer
Mike Perry
Executive Director of Admission
David McMahan
Dean of Students
Jacqueline Hetherington
Director of Residence Life
Carolynne Garutti
President, Student Government Association (SGA) & Graduate Student in M.S. Biotechnology, College of Engineering & Science
Eli Rines
Student, Psychology-B.A., College of Psychology and Liberal Arts
Danielle Fries
Student Government Association DEI Committee Chair & Senior in Psychology-B.S. Program
Cat Nanney
Director of Student Life
Edit Page