Leave Usage for Victims of Domestic Violence/Sexual Violence
Effective Date Jan 1, 2015
|Applicable Employee Classes:||Date Last Revised:||Approved by:|
All Florida Tech Employees.
Dr. T. Dwayne McCay, President
Leave usage for Victims of Domestic/Sexual Violence
Policy Owner: Human Resources
Florida Tech seeks to comply with state regulations and provide options for university employees in relative situations.
This policy applies to all Florida Tech employees. Under Florida Law, employers must provide employees up to 3 days of leave in a twelve-month period if the employee or a family or household member is a victim of domestic violence. The fiscal year of July 1 to June 30 will be considered the 12-month period.
An employee who is a victim of domestic violence or sexual violence or has a family or household member who is a victim of domestic violence or sexual violence may take up to three working days paid leave time within a 12-month period. Employees must exhaust any available annual vacation leave, personal leave and sick leave before requesting leave under this policy.
Within the scope of this policy, you may use the leave time for the following:
- Seek an injunction for protection against domestic violence, an injunction for the protection in cases of repeat violence, dating violence, or sexual violence.
- Obtain medical care and/or medical health counseling for the employee, a family member, or household member to address physical or psychological injuries resulting from domestic violence or sexual violence.
- Obtain services from a victim-services organization, including but not limited to, a domestic violence shelter or program or a rape crisis center as a result of the act of domestic violence or sexual violence.
- Make the employee's home secure from the perpetrator or seek new housing or escape the perpetrator.
- Seek legal assistance in addressing issues arising from the act of domestic violence or sexual violence or to attend and prepare for a related court proceeding.
Florida Statute 741.313 (2)(a)
Except in cases of imminent danger to your health and safety or that of a family member, you must provide the Office of Human Resources with at least 48 hours of advance notice (321) 674-8100.
The Office of Human Resources may require you to provide certification of the purpose of the leave in the form of a letter from a volunteer services organization, police report or court record, or other corroborating evidence.
Violation of state law.